top of page
  • Writer's picturebelivingintruth

Hineni (הנני)

Knock, Knock, Knock! “Hineni (הנני)”

-Jesus


___________________________________

You might be wondering what that new and fun little word is. Well, I am thankful for your curiosity. That fun little word, "Hineni", is Hebrew for "Here I am". And from that word, you can speak directly to God and simply say, "Here I am, Lord," just like 7 other people did in the Bible. ____________________________________



I would like to tell you a story about a young girl who had compassion and cared for others in such a way that as her compassion grew as she did too. This young girl knew she liked Jesus but did not know Him. However, she didn’t love Him with a compassionate heart. You see, this young girl heard a knock on the heart of her door at an early age, but she was only looking through the peephole because she did not know how to open the door. But come to find out, what this little girl was missing out on was wholeness because she did not understand how to open the door.


It was not until many years later, someone came into her life and showed her how to open the door and become whole with her Father. (Discipleship)


That young girl who stood closed off with the door locked was me. The Lord stood at the door of my heart for many years, patiently waiting and saying, “Behold, Hineni (הנני)!”

That word that was presented to me as I began to open the door and the Bible and that word was, “Hineni (הנני).” Those three words in the English language have been said by many, including Jesus. We have great teachers, leaders, and examples who lived long before us such as Moses, Abraham, and Samuel who told God directly, “Hineni (הנני).”

As I slowly started to open the door of my heart to Jesus, He began to do work in me. And I feel like I should inform you if it isn't obvious yet, this was not an overnight process. It took time, many days and nights to become obsessed and in love with the Lord before I could openly say to the Lord, "Hineni."


I am so blessed to have many of you watch and guide me along this incredible life-changing journey for the Kingdom! {Shoutout to my Elizabeth's!}


Even though at one point I locked myself away and kept the door closed and even locked too, the Lord showed His unfailing, unwavering love for me. He is a patient God Who stood at the door of my heart kept knocking.


I enjoy reading different versions of the Bible and I am currently intrigued with the English Standard Version where it says, “Behold.” In Greek, it means “eido” which then translates to “see.” And one of my life verses says, "Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come into him and eat with him, and he with Me."


So, as a young girl, I was standing on a step stool to look out the peephole was looking, but could not see ALL that Jesus was and what He had to offer. She saw this man standing there and could hear the knock, but she was confused as to what to do. And just like Timothy, I needed a Paul. I needed a leader to me show me how to not only one the door, but also how to openly be open.


And let me tell you, the moment I opened the door for Him it was as if a gust of glory came and swung the door off the hinges and I saw more than ever before.


Cue the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir singing, "Oh taste and see, that the Lord is good!"


Although, it didn't happen quite as quickly as I could have desired, when the lightbulb of wisdom and knowledge finally was ignited I have been striving to never let that flame go dim. And I by no means have it all figured out, as many of you know! I jokingly say that I am awaking questionnaire and I most definitely will go to Heaven with my questions still unanswered, but that is fine with me. Because I heard Him calling me and knocking, I opened the door and invited Him in to eat with me.


Oh and to add to hearing the calling, I met with a lady last night and we discussed discipleship. And I am now hearing another call that I teach women of all generations how to open the door of their hearts and dine with their Father. It is the Great Commission after all that we go and make disciple-makers!


| Jesus is knocking, would you like to answer the door and invite Him into your heart? |


Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page