top of page
  • Writer's picturebelivingintruth

Trust in the Lord

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one! You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength. Deuteronomy 6:4-7




What does it mean to trust in the Lord?


Well, let me first start off by being completely transparent. I have the tendency of being terrified of the unknown. Why? Well, because I am a planner, I like control - I am a woman (Eve’s curse). How can I be afraid of the unknown when I have a known God who has already gone before me, Who is with me and has been with me every step of the way? Short answer; fear.

Fear is straight from the enemy, not from the Lord.

Now, before I go any further, to fear the Lord is 100% a necessity in life. (See Proverbs 19:10) It is a healthy kind of fear, not a fearful fear. To fear the Lord is to act in respect towards Who He is and what He is capable of doing. (See Deuteronomy 6:13; Psalm 115:11; Proverbs 3:7)


Who tells the sun when it is time to rise in the morning and who puts the sun to sleep when it is time to rest? Is it me? No. Who talks to the ocean and commands that it not come an inch more towards the land, for He made a promise to my people? Is it me? No.


So would there be a moment in my life where I don't trust my Dad to protect me, provide for me and fulfill promises to His little girl?


I tend to have some pretty cool scenarios that run through my mind. For example, what my perfect proposal would look like, what I’d like to do during the day, week, or even month, where I would like to travel, and many more fun ideas. However, if I rely on those ideas or plans that I created, I am putting myself in the control seat (AKA the Throne).


It says in Proverbs that I should not lean on my own understandings, but fully put my trust in the Lord (Proverbs 3:5).

Can I give God control if I am sitting in the control seat?! This is not a co-polite process. e are all given choices. I either get in the backseat or I take control. So, either trust fully or don’t.


I had to trust that God in the year 2019 that He would provide a permanent place for me to rest my head and a job that would maintain my stay there. Was it hard maintaining my trust through a time of uncertainty? Yes. Why? Because I thought, I can just do this on my own. Well, there I am again back in the control seat again. Get back, Court. You don’t belong there. God gave me peace through that time of many unknowns that would carry me through it all. Did I worry? The truthful answer, yes. Did I trust my Father? More than ever! Because He has done it in the past and I knew He would do it again.


| “The Lord is my shepherd; I have what I need. He lets me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. He renews my life; He leads me along the right paths for His name’s sake.” Psalm 23:1 |


If you are at all familiar with the story of the Israelites in the Torah, you are able to see God’s willing and able hand providing for their unwilling and unable hearts. I knew if God alone would provide for the unwilling, how much more would He then provide for me, the willing?


I needed: • Shelter • Food • Clothing


I asked God to bless me with a stable and secure place to live, a healthy lifestyle with food and fitness, friends and family, a better life with Him. And do you know what happened? He did! My Father Who loves me so much blessed me with a career path, a new home, a healthy lifestyle, and good friends. He blessed me abundantly more than I could have ever imagined! I was beginning to see what my Father was capable to do because I allowed myself to willingly trust Him in the unknown.



Are you scared of walking into the unknown? Maybe you're facing financial struggle, marital situations, falling or loss of friends, unhealthy thoughts about life, and yourself. Will you do me a favor and pray with me?


Dear Dad,

I know that I do not know all things. In fact, I am okay with not knowing everything even though I really do want to know. Yet, Dad, I want to lean into You and trust You through this. I am scared. I invite you into this unknown time of my life. It is not unknown to You which is why I need You here now more than ever. Guide me, Dad. Help me, Dad. Show me what decision(s) to make in the coming days. I love you Dad! Thank You for taking care of me by providing for me and protecting me. I pray this in Your Name, Jesus. Amen!



If I ask for it in prayer and do not trust God Who can do immeasurably, exceedingly, abundantly more than I can ask or think then I minimizing my God to do minimal things.







Recent Posts

See All

Коментарі


bottom of page